Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.7
 Total  4.5

"Short rainy stay"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Meir B. of Raanana, Israel
Reviewed:   June 10, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2019     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed on the way to Poas Volcano but it was raining so hard we could not make it. However the staff was very nice and the food (dinner and breakfast) was great and not expensive. The room was o. k. but no more. We paid $9.5 as service charge which is exagerrated compared to other hotel agencies. The "book" button leads to IWB if you want to do it on the internet. Maybe it's better to phone them.

"gringo in paradise"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jerrald W. of Springdale, United States
Reviewed:   April 29, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2019     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Beautiful mountain getaway. Superb management. Very pleasant experience.

"Beau B&B"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Melissa C. of Stoneham, Canada
Reviewed:   April 27, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2019     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nous avons apprécié notre nuit au Poas lodge. Les hôtes sont accueillants. Les chambres étaient spacieuses et confortables. Le déjeuner inclus était vraiment bon . Les hôtes nous ont conseillés des activités à notre arrivée.

"Rustic charm"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Bobbi J. of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   March 20, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2019     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We felt right at home with Matthew and Leah. The lodge is unique, with charm and character, and tasty authentic Costa Rican cuisine. The view of San Jose was great. Matthew and Leah were knowledgeable about the area and watched the weather to recommend the best time to visit the volcano. It was the perfect start to a fantastic trip!

"Comfortable and friendly lodge"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jack F. of Texas, United States
Reviewed:   March 6, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2019     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Leah and Matt are great host and provide simple but comfortable and clean accommodations, great food and lots of helpful advice. Rooms have a sweeping view of the countryside and San Jose far below.

"Perfekte Unterkunft für Poas-Trip"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Martin H. of Meerbusch, Germany
Reviewed:   February 18, 2019  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2019     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Der Weg vom Flughafen zur Poas Lodge zieht sich und man glaubt kaum, noch irgendwo anzukommen, dann liegt die Lodge etwas unscheinbar am Wegesrand. Sie ist klein, sehr gemütlich, einfach, sauber und mit einer supertollen Aussicht gesegnet. Die Gastgeber sind supernett, hilfsbereit und kochen klasse! Frühstück ist prima. Von der Lodge aus ist man in 5 Minuten am Visitor-Center zum Poas, daher perfekt für eine frühe Besichtigung (die ist leider auch keine Garantie für gute Sicht auf den Krater, wie wir leidvoll erfahren mussten :-(
Insgesamt sehr gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis und eine klare Empfehlung!

"Awesome experience"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   David C P. of Indianapolis, United States
Reviewed:   December 18, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A lot of love goes into this place. The commanding views of the Central Valley are amazing, spellbinding even. The food is out of this world good and so wholesome. Lovely rooms, all so nice and green up there. My 3rd visit and plan on staying again in 2019. Why not?!

"Traumhafte Lodge"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Monika B. of Berlin, Germany
Reviewed:   November 3, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Traumhaft gelegene Lodge mit toller Aussicht auf das Tal sowohl von den Zimmern als auch vom Restaurant. Frisch zubereitete Speisen nur für die Übernachtungsgäste.
Aufmerksame, hilfsbereite und super freundliche Besitzer, die die Lodge selbst betreiben.

"Great stay"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Sira H. of Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed:   October 14, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great hosts, very helpful with booking arrangements and all kinds of tips on Costa Rica. Amazing food. Its just a little hard to find if you arrive in the dark :)

"Delightful!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Andrea K. of Bremerton, WA, United States
Reviewed:   July 18, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and our adult son and I visited Costa Roca for the the first time in March! What a beautiful country! We had the pleasure of staying here on our second night and loved it! The views from the lodge are ever changing! Matthew and Leah were so kind and helpful - thanks for the great info regarding the rest of our trip! And the food was amazing!! Thank you for sharing your mountain top home with us! Your hospitality was top-notch and we hope to be back someday!


1 - 10 of 104 reviews  Next 10 results




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us