Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.8
 Cleanliness  4.9
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.7

"Clean, friendly, cozy place in Valpo"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Michael M. of zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed:   August 22, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Trini and Ale are your friendly, helpful and cool hosts in this small, cozy place above the harbor, with views over the entire bay of Valparaiso. The best things about Hostal Artilleria 199 is the high standard of cleanliness, relaxed, family-style atmosphere and "service". My gf and I have stayed there twice so far and it was a good experience every time, with nice details like being included in a grill-dinner and a lot of information on Valpo, which is especially useful for a photographer. Too much praise? Hahaha :-) There can be a bit of noise from the harbor (but there are blinds for the windows) and it is not the cheapest place. But the one I like best, and just besides the Naval museum, at the top end of the "Acensor Artilleria". Have phun in Valpo! ;-)

"Quaint, Awesome Place! Wonderful, Warm, Kind Owners"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Lynn W. of Honolulu, United States
Reviewed:   May 15, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This B&B was adorable, clean and awesome location with great view of harbor. The owners were so much there to please or help with your needs, especially important after arriving from a long travel. The personable, kind, friendly, welcoming received upon our arrival and during our stay would definitely make me book at Casa Hostal 199 in the future! I highly recommend it to everyone!!! LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!

"Fantastic place in Valparaiso, beautiful view"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Tore L. of Oslo, Norway
Reviewed:   April 8, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We planned to stay in Valparasio a couple of nights, but the moment we stepped in the doors to our room we realised that we couldn't leave before we had to. We ended up with five fantastic days together with Trini, Ale and Carolina. Everything where just perfect: Clean white sheets, new and fresh bathroom, bright and clean room, fantastic view of Valparasio but most important was our hosts. It is difficult to describe the hospitality we experienced there. We have often read about places which are described as living together with the owners, but never experienced it. This was much more than you can expect from any accommodation.

We got lots of tips about places to visit, restaurants to eat at, checking airline tickets, bus tables etc.....

A fantastic experience was the barbeque together with Trini, Ale, Carolina and Anton.

Finally, do your self a favour: Stay there and experience the best place in Valparasio!

Trini, Ale and Carolina: We will be back!!!!

K&T

"Un acogedor ambiente y piezas con la mejor vista de Valparaíso."

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Magdalena D. of Santiago, Chile
Reviewed:   March 17, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Espanol-Spanish):
La Casa Hostal Artillería 199 es una excelente alternativa para todos los viajeros. Por precios relamente módicos, se puede acceder a este hostal, muy acogedor, que es una casona antigua típica de la zona. Al llegar allá, será atendido por sus propios dueños, un joven matrimonio.
Las piezas son realmente bonitas, cada una es distinta y con una vista espectacular de Valparaíso.
Otro aspecto a destacar es el ambiente que hay dentro del lugar, generalmente todos los viajeros se conocen y comparten entre sí, un aperitivo en la terraza con los dueños del hostal.

"Hermosos Días"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Maximiliano M. of Santiago, Chile
Reviewed:   February 22, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Espanol-Spanish):
haber escogido la '199' para quedarnos yo y mis padres fue una excelente elección, ya que en todo momento nos sentimos como en casa, y esa es la principal razón de porque nos fuimos con una sonrisa en la cara y con ganas de haber estado mucho mas tiempo entre esa paredes.

"Casa 199"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Marianne F. of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 16, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The best hostel we stayed in in Chile. Ale and Trini are fantastic hosts, the rooms were large and airy with great views of the whole bay, breakfast was superb and there is a lovely terrace. We would definately like to come back here.

"This is the place to stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Candela C. of CAPITAL FEDERAL, Argentina
Reviewed:   February 1, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed two weeks in this guest house.
The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful.
The cozy atmosphere of the hostel made my trip unforgettable.
Confortable and safe.
The entire house it´s astonish including the terrace, the view of the bay its unique.
All service are excellent; cleaning, breakfast.
It´s located in the perfect place to move easily to typical viewpoints, close to everything.

"highly recommended"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Anton R. of Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed:   January 9, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very good hostal, run by a young chilenian couple, english spoken, breathtaking views from rooms and terrace, clean, safe location, owners friendly and helpfull

"A great and special place"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   David O. of Rancagua, Chile
Reviewed:   December 29, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I spent 5 days at Casa Hostal 199, booking previously by phone.
From the very first day it was excellent, I can confirm what the two other reviews at this moment state, they are very friendly, dedicated and helpful.

The house, tastefully decorated, was always clean, and the toilette (private) and sheets, for my taste, immaculate as in few places are.

I had a very good wi-fi connection in my room, named Flores Guajiras, where I also had a beautiful sight of most of the bay, which is even better in the terrace.

The breakfast is a pleasure. Dot. (I'm grateful for the grapefruit juice.) You can also use the kitchen if you need it. That's great.
It's a very special place since it is common, if you wish, to share with Trinidad and Ale -the owners-, Carolina, who also works there, and guests, having a good conversation in the terrace while having your dinner, for instance.

Definitely a place I would come back happily and I blindly suggest for anyone interested in a safe, clean, calm and friendly stay.


Previous 10 results  11 - 19 of 19 reviews




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us