Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  4.4

"Good"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Pris C. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   January 24, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2013     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good location, less than 5mins walk to MTR. Room was clean and tidy. Hair dryer and hot water were available. Area was not too old nor complicated. Less crowd compared to mongkok area. Lady who clean up our room was friendly. Negative point was there were not many Hong Kong cafe and street eatery at that area.

"とても便利な場所"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Miyaji M. of Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed:   April 19, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
地下鉄尖沙咀から徒歩1分、コンビニ、両替所、食堂も至近距離にある便利なホテルです。
ネイザンロード沿いで立地がとてもよくどこにでも手間をかけずに行けます。
部屋はコンパクトで清潔、管理人の方も親切でした。

"Unbelievable Hong Kong"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Anton B. of Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed:   November 12, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a wonderful time in Hong Kong and this I can thank Raymond for being our host at the guest house. He is encredible very helpful and understanding, even when I arrived at midnight from the airport. The guest house it perfectly situated, close to the A21 bus terminal and at the MTR, 5min walk from the ferries at the harbour. The room was small, but had a aircon in, and for me being a easy person, it was ideal. I was anyway out most of the time. The geust house even has security down stairs who is also very friendly and helpful. If yo are looking for the best bargone in Hong Kong, this is the place to stay. Thanks again Raymond for all youre help.

"Yiu Fai Guesthouse"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   L M. of Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   September 16, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed there for 3 nights with my friends. We reserved 3 rooms. The rooms are clean. Raymond was very accommodating.. It's a good choice for travelers on a budget.

"SATISFIED"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Shirley V. of Makati, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 24, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My mom and I were very much satisfied with Yiu Fai Guesthouse. The hotel is easy to locate since it is situated next to the bus stop and the train station. The staff are all friendly and accomodating except that most of them do not speak the english language. But, no worries because you may look for Raymond since he's the only staff there who knows how to speak english. When we arrived earlier than the check-in time, they let us leave our baggages in their office so we can start roaming around the city. I agreed because I know our things are safe and secured with them. We came back around 12 midnight and glad to see that they really took care of our things. They also lead us to our room where at first I was a bit scared because the hallway is a little narrow. But then again, I know its safe and I'm kinda used to it. The room is clean and comfortable, well-lighted and well-ventilated. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends.

"Stay in HK"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Michaela K. of Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed:   May 4, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hi there, we (2 girls) stayed in this guesthouse for 10 days. It is perfectly located (the metro stop is right in front of the entrance of the guesthouse), the rooms are very small but clean, the staff (especially Raymond!!) is very helpful. They provide free internet access, tea and coffee.
I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting to stay in HK for a couple of night who wants to be right in the center and is not too picky about size of rooms. If I ever go back to HK, I will go back to this hostel for sure.

"Small, clean, safe and effective"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Pete B. of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   April 13, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Yiu Fai Guesthouse is right on Nathan Road with an Airport Bus stop right across the busy street. It is hidden inside a - what else? - tall building occupied by various different businesses and offices. There is a watchman by the elevator to monitor the CCTV and keep out undesirables. No trace of hourly rental lodgers, like other budget hotels up and down Nathan Street.
If you are claustrophobic, this is not for you. All doors to offices on the guesthouse's storey are barricaded with metal accordion grille gates. The guesthouse occupies a main office and two or three rooms. It seems they were once one office unit, since partitioned to get more profit out of the accommodation trade. As a result, one double bad fits exactly in the width of the room. Another single bed is perpendicular against the wall. Barely enough room to turn around in and stow two backpacks. The bathroom is a toilet with a shower handle above. The door is waterproofed to avoid puddles in the rest of the room. There is a tiny sink with a water boiler for making your own tea/instant coffee in the mornings. A small TV is mounted high up in the corner.
Despite these thoughtful amenities, the room's smallness, does not encourage guests to lounge around all day. The advantage is that it encourages the traveler to get out and explore the amazing city. If you do get weary from craning your head upwards at the skyscraping architecture, there are wonderful parks to rest in, rather than going back to your box of a room to rest. It is reassuring to know however, that there is a clean room with a shower to freshen up in at the end of a day's roaming.
Yiu Fai Guesthouse is a good bargain and a great base from which to explore Hong Kong on short stay.

"Yiu Fai Guesthouse"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Jamie D. of Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed:   February 18, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The first thing I noticed about the guesthouse was how central it is to everything. The building it is located in is a short walk from the MTR station and Tsim Sha Tsui is a great location to be in for any holidaymakers. This guesthouse is very cheap and for the price, you shouldn't expect much in terms of comfort. The beds and pillows were very hard but the room was big enough. The shower isn't much either and is hand held but does the job.

The service was great (even though noone spoke English) and the staff are very friendly and accomodating. If you are an English speaker, ask for Raymond when you arrive as he runs the guesthouse and can speak English, he will also lend you his laptop if you want to use the internet (the guesthouse is wi-fi capable for those of you with laptops).

All in all, for the price I was very satisfied with Yiu Fai/ Fuk Lam guesthouse (the two are interconnected) and would definitely stay there again.


1 - 8 of 8 reviews




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us