Apartment Instant Booking
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.8
 Rooms  2.6
 Cleanliness  2.6
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  2.6
 Service & Staff  2.7
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  2.9

"Worst Hostel Ever I've been To!!! Never Ever Go to this Place!!!"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Cathy B. of Rizal, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 12, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I made a reservation for 4 ADULTS but actually we are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children). I even sent an email to them a couple of times confirming my booking here at instantworldbooking. And when I checked in, they told me that my reservation is for 2 people only. And the worst thing is that, they made me pay 100HKD per child per night. Total of 600HKD for 3 nights!!! They even have the worst customer service! Rooms have cockroaches! Beds are too small! The building is filthy! I will never go back to this place again! EVER!!!

"1"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Liao K. of taiwan, Taiwan
Reviewed:   February 20, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2012     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
我遭遇服務最差的酒店,付了預定金.卻沒有幫我保留.讓我到了,又沒有房間住.一定得要先付完全額才能住.我對香港酒店相當失望,預先打了電話也沒有用,非常的失望與難過,

"Small but cheap, clean and good location"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Paco A. of Amsterdam, Netherlands
Reviewed:   October 2, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very small room but clean and well condition, space for bed and to walk to your bed, no day light, bathroom exaggerated small, you have to fight against the walls and the wc-pot to take shower and then to dry yourself, ridiculous. The lift is ridiculous small and you have to wait in the cue.
Reception is in another tower, so you have to "travel" to the 3rd floor (?) of the one tower (difficult cause of lift), then to your room in another tower, at the end the same to return key and get deposit back.
Price is cheap for HK, however later I had found st cheaper and bigger but older. Many western tourist stay there.

There are many of that kind of cheap hotels in the area and people is chasing you offering them.

"Our First Time in HongKong Experience"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   WERNER G. of LAS PINAS CITY, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 22, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2011     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tai Wan Hotel is not worthy of being called a hotel. It's room for rent does not meet the sanitation; safety standards of any budget inn. It's featured rooms shown on the internet are so deceiving. It is more like a miserable cage that you cannot stand spending the whole night without waiting for the morning to come and get the chance to move out. It is stinky; and the bathroom is abominable. Outside the hotel, it is like a jungle where swindlers; pickpockets and muggers are on the prowl and waiting for every chance to get their hands on their victims. The persons on the reception desk are so despicable.

Our first time experience in Hongkong made us sorry why we ever chose to spend our weekend just to get into a fight with the Tai wan Hotel receptionist which ate up most of our holiday. We were coerced into paying for 2 nights stay for an actual 6 hours stay only.

"Stay inTai Wan Hotel on 14 June 2011 to 21 June 2011"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Gim Sng Y. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   July 6, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2011     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
When I arrived at Tai Wan Hotel, it was 10:36 pm Hong Kong time. I took A21 bus service from the airport and travelled for about 45 minutes. (I get this information from web, basically, I think it is publish by the chain hotel administrator. At the time I visited Hong Kong, the Chung Kin Mansion is under some kind of major re-construction. Therefore, I have to walk to it main entrance to make sure I am on the right place when I saw Chung Kin Mansion wording in Chinese.
When I gone up to Chung Kin Mansion A Block 3rd floor. The lady Ms. Zhang was half slept in the receptionist counter. Talk very fast and sullen looks. She asked for the balance payment and HKD 100 deposit. After that, she brought me to a single room without bathroom. The room is tiny and with a wide bed, but not long enough for me. I think it is just about 172 cm long. And I am a 178 skinny man. The pillow is stink but the condition still consider bearable to me. But, when I need to use the shared toilet at the corner to wash up. I found that the door is very difficult to close tight. It goes without sitting ring and it is so tiny that you can't even able to move your legs. Luckily, there is another slightly bigger bathroom. But, I had to wait until mid-night 2am to use it.
As the condition is not too good. I asked for a single room with a toilet. And I paid additional HKD 50 per night for it. The lady gave me a room at E Block of Chung Kin Mansion 11 storey. Yes, the room is bigger and bathroom with spray shower, better air-conditional, LAN Line and Telephone with a same sized bed as before. But it has bedbug. I saw 3 on my bed the next morning and been bitten by one under my right cheek. Immediately I asked to shift down to A Block 3rd floor. This time they given me a nice and clean tiny room with bathroom but the bed is about 170 cm long. I took it and felt ok with the room. But time to time the air-con will suck in cigarette smell or smoke from somewhere. This really made me gone mad.

In conclusion, I found that booking for website may not be the cheaper price you can get. In fact, if you called on the door you may able to get a even better price. For example, I am paying HKD 190 per night. You may able to get it at HKD 150.

Secondly, the room keeper Mr. Peter Ong is like a bear with a sore head, full of vulgar language in his mouth. easy irritated.

Ms. Zhang spoke in very fast speed but is kind and has some humour.

My recommandation is there are many hostel around, if you can spend some time looking around. You may able to find a better one with good price.

"unfriendly lady"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Lyn A. of quezon city, Philippines
Reviewed:   February 1, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
we got a quite decent accommodation for two, but the set back of the place is the unfriendly receptionist who greeted us with her early morning outburst. we arrived there at around 7am, she treated us very rudely, telling us that we arrived too early, when in fact, this website asked for the time of our arrival. she also told us that the door of the communal bathroom was broken so we better book a room with a private bathroom for an additional fee. we were also not able to get our deposit for the key because she won't wake up when we were knocking on her door and we don't want to be late for our flight. im still grateful for my stay there but i don't think i will ever be back there anytime soon. maybe not anymore. who would be encouraged to return if a grumpy old woman is the one who'll greet you upon your arrival. hope the hostel will get a friendlier receptionist. though the building is very old, and the first floor is full of Pakistani people selling stuff and offering you hotel accommodations, i can still accept all those if only the people in the hostel had been friendly enough. but since the accommodation was old and scary, and the old lady was very rude, it was not worth it to come back.

"Friendly staff"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Indra Y. of singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   June 15, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Friendly staff and quite prompt upon request. Nice view from the hotel room and we've got free upgrade to a bigger room. Overall, we are happy and satisfied throughout our stay in Twaiwan hotel.

"Tai Wan Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Claudio B. of Campomarino, Italy
Reviewed:   March 16, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have been in Tai Wan hostel two weeks ago.

It's not so easy to find a cheap and good hostel in Hong Kong, but if you are an experienced traveller and you have to stay in Hong Kong for a short time, Tai Wan hostel could be a nice solution.
Not so expensive, but i suggest to book a single room, because double or multiple rooms (and toilets) are not so clean and comfortable.
Instead, single rooms are quite good, comfortable and clean.

I think the biggest problem of Tai Wan hostel is "security": especially on night, there are crowds of people trying to fraud you in every way. You just have to avoid them and to be careful because they could also steal your money.

On the other hand, staff is very kind. moreover, it's very close to Tsim Sha Tsui Metro Station (the most central place in Kowloon)

"WARNING... DO NOT STAY HERE!"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Fiona D. of Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed:   June 14, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place is disgusting.
The Chungking mansions is a huge busy building with many other hostels inside it, there are 'touters'(people trying to sell you things and drag you to their hostels) all hanging around the entrance 24/7. We ignored them but were tricked into believing a guy who claimed to be from our hostel, he was friendly, not pushy and seemed genuine. He took us to the reception and pretended he had our booking in his paperwork then took my copy of reference number etc and payment for 3 nights.
After spending one night we had a bad feeling that something wasn't right and went to look around for the 'Apple Hostel' where we had booked. They were very sympathetic and called the police for us. They arrived within 10 mins and came with us to the Taiwan Hotel & got our money back.
One of us was badly bitten by bed bugs all over his body and another had cockroaches and rats in the ceiling of his tiny room.
Later I noticed a sign saying that they rent rooms by the hour.... not a nice place.
If you really must stay in the Chungking mansions, then find your hostel by yourself (the signs are above the lifts)and don't speak to anybody downstairs.

I see the photos advertised of the Taiwan Hotel look nothing like it!!! dodgy

""HORRIBLE!!!" ~"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Terry J. of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed:   March 25, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Never believe this hostel,nothing true about their own description
When we arrival,they collect all the room fee,that's alright ,since we get in the room,our nightmare begun,the room was old and with bad smell,we told their staff that we like to change rooms,but they just refuse and telling us that's all we booked and we should pay more $100 for upgrade to a better room,as i think it's not worth to do so,we just stay a nignt and see how things go on.
we found some cockroach inside room and just keep feeling something bit me all the night
we just run away when the sun rising up,it's a long terrible night for us
I would strongly recommend not to book at this so called hotel


1 - 10 of 22 reviews  Next 10 results




ApartmentInstantBooking Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us